BBC Broadcast Reminder- Contemporary Music Ensemble of Wales

Just one last reminder that tonight is the night for the broadcast of my recent concert with the Contemporary Music Ensemble of Wales on this week’s edition of Hear and Now on BBC Radio 3.

The concert is hosted by writer, critic and broadcaster Ivan Hewett and can be heard this Saturday, April 19th at 10:30 PM GMT on BBC Radio 3, or online at-

If you are too busy to listen today, you can listen to the program anytime via the Radio 3 on-demand service for one week after the broadcast here-

(The on-demand service usually becomes available several hours after the show)

The program includes works by Iannis Xenakis, Paul Mefano, Earle Brown and Gordon Downie. Complete broadcast information can be found here-

Program notes for the concert are here

It was a very challenging and rewarding program, with amazing contributions from piano soloist Ian Pace and the musicians of CMEW. As part of the broadcast, Ivan Hewett will be interviewing both CMEW Artistic Director Gordon Downie and Paul Mefano, who flew over from France for the concert. The BBC website is also featuring my lengthy interview with Gordon Downie. Be sure to read it if you haven’t already.  

Let me know how it sounds- I’m in rehearsals all day with the OES Preparatory Orchestra so won’t get to hear it until later this week.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Spread the word. Share this post!

About the author

American conductor, composer and cellist Kenneth Woods is Principal Conductor of the English Symphony Orchestra, Artistic Director of the Colorado MahlerFest and cellist of the string trio Ensemble Epomeo. He records for the Avie, Somm, Nimbus, Signum, MSR and Toccata labels.

Learn about Kenneth at

All material in these pages is protected by copyright.

3 comments on “BBC Broadcast Reminder- Contemporary Music Ensemble of Wales”

  1. Pingback: » Contemporary Music Ensemble of Wales BBC3 ComposerBastard: :: caught between subcultures - wanted by none ::

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *