2010 Repertoire Report- Semyon Bychkov

Next up in the Repertoire Reports for 2010 is conductor Semyon Bychkov, who was previously featured in 2008.

Maestro Bychkov seems to favor carrying a relatively small number of pieces in a year, 50 this year and 30 in 2008 when he was doing even more opera.

Anyone who has been following his career of late will know it has been a banner year, even a banner decade for Bychkov, who seems to have entered a new phase of his career as one of the great established maestri working today. It does then beg the question of whether perhaps too many of us try to do too many works, and that part of his recent success is not simply his evolving maturity as an artist, but his care in preparation. Young conductors would be well advised to consult the program listings on his website to see how carefully he seems to schedule things so that works are coming in and out of his working repertoire in a rather logical flow.

There is something to be said for really living with pieces. Bychkov has been living with Richard Strauss a lot in the last few years, and this video of him conducting the Alpine Symphony with the Berlin Phil has achieved  legendary status (mostly for the contrabass trombone playing). The whole concert is available at the Digital Concert Hall

I’d certainly love to do as much Wagner as he does, and I’m envious of all the Strauss, but I’m not sure I could go a year without conducting a Beethoven, Mozart or Haydn symphony. It’s great to see a conductor of his stature waving the flag for the Schumann Violin Concerto.

Semyon Bychkov, 2010 Repertoire Report

  1. BARTOK: The Miraculous Mandarin Suite, Op 19
  2. BARTOK Viola Concerto
  3. BEETHOVEN: Piano Concerto No 2
  4. BEETHOVEN: Piano Concerto No5 (Emperor)
  5. BERLIOZ: Symphonie Fantastique
  6. BRAHMS: Concerto for Violin and Cello in A minor Op 102
  7. BRAHMS Symphony No 2
  8. BRAHMS: Symphony No 3, Op 90, F major
  9. BRAHMS: Symphony No4 Op98 in E minor
  10. BRUCH: Violin Concerto no.1 in G minor
  11. DUKAS: The Sorcerer’s Apprentice
  12. DUTILLEUX: Métaboles
  13. DVORAK: Carnival Overture Op 92
  14. GLANERT: Theatrum bestiarum
  15. HAYDN: Sinfonia Concertante
  16. MAHLER: Symphony No.5
  17. MANSURIAN: Concerto for Cello and Orchestra (World Premiere)
  18. MASCAGNI: Cavalleria rusticana (Intermezzo)
  19. MENDELSSOHN: Piano Concerto No 1
  20. MENDELSSOHN: Violin Concerto in E minor, Op. 64
  21. PUCCINI: Manon Lescaut: Intermezzo III/IV Act
  22. RACHMANINOV: Piano Concerto No2
  23. RACHMANINOV: Piano Concerto No 3
  24. RACHMANINOV: Rhapsody on a theme of Paganini, Op 43
  25. RAVEL: Le Tombeau de Couperin
  26. RAVEL: La Valse
  27. REVUELTAS: La Noche de los Mayas
  28. ROSSINI: William Tell Overture
  29. SCHOENBERG: Verklärte Nacht Op. 4
  30. SCHULLER: Where the World Ends
  31. SCHUMANN: Manfred Overture
  32. SCHUMANN: Violin Concerto
  33. SCHUMANN: Symphony No 2
  34. SHOSTAKOVICH: Piano Concerto No2
  35. SHOSTAKOVICH: Symphony No 1, op.10, F minor
  36. SHOSTAKOVICH: Symphony No 7, op.60, C major (Leningrad)
  37. R. STRAUSS: An Alpine Symphony
  38. STRAUSS: Till Eulenspiegel
  39. STRAUSS: Burleske d-moll fur Klavier und Orchester AV85
  40. STRAUSS: Ein Heldenleben
  41. STRAVINSKY: The Rite of Spring
  42. TCHAIKOVSKY: Piano Concerto No 1, Op 23, B-flat minor
  43. TCHAIKOVSKY: Symphony No 4
  44. TCHAIKOVSKY: Symphony No 6
  45. VERDI: La forza del destino Overture
  46. WAGNER: Prelude, Lohengrin Act 1
  47. WAGNER: Prelude & Liebestod from Tristan und Isolde
  48. WAGNER: Tannhauser
  49. WAGNER: Tristan, Act 2
  50. WALTON: Symphony No 1

Conductor Semyon Bychkov

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Spread the word. Share this post!

About the author

American conductor, composer and cellist Kenneth Woods is Principal Conductor of the English Symphony Orchestra, Artistic Director of the Colorado MahlerFest and cellist of the string trio Ensemble Epomeo. He records for the Avie, Somm, Nimbus, Signum, MSR and Toccata labels.

Learn about Kenneth at www.kennethwoods.net

All material in these pages is protected by copyright.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *