Repertoire Report- Michael Böhnert-Wheatley 2011

Now in his sixth season as Music Director of the Seven Hills Sinfonietta in Cincinnati, OH, Maestro Michael Wheatley has established a reputation as a builder of orchestras. During his tenure with this ensemble the orchestra has nearly doubled in size, relocated to an expansive new concert venue, formed significant new relationships with grant-giving organizations, and has greatly expanded its orchestral library. With each season, he has led this orchestra to perform ever more substantial and challenging works of the orchestral repertoire.  Recently, the orchestra was featured in a film for the Sundance Channel. Michael’s popular Twitter feed can be found here. His 2010 Repertoire Report can be read here. 

In 2010, he was named the new Associate Conductor of the Southern Illinois Symphony Orchestra at Southern Illinois University in Carbondale, Illinois.  A scholar in Russian music performance practice, his ballet debut of Tchaikovsky’s Nutcracker in December set a new record for attendance (a completely sold out performance in Shryock Auditorium).  This year, he followed with SISO premiere performances of Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 6Berlioz’ Symphonie Fantastique, and celebrated Gustav Mahler’s double centenary years with a performance of Mahler’s Symphony No. 4.


2011 Repertoire Report for Michael Böhnert-Wheatley



  1. Bach- Brandenburg Concerto No. 1
  2. Berlioz- Symphonie Fantastique
  3. Carmack- Ysnaby Valour (World Premiere)
  4. Debussy- Prélude à l’après-midi d’un Faune
  5. Feldman- Three Clarinets, Cello, and Piano (1971)
  6. Fuhr- American Pictures  (World Premiere)
  7. Hindemith- Symphonic Metamorphosis on theme of C. M von Weber
  8. Hummel- Introduction, Theme, and Variations, Op. 102 for Oboe and Orchestra
  9. Mahler- Adagietto from Symphony No. 5
  10. Mahler- Symphony No. 4
  11. Mozart- Clarinet Concerto
  12. Mozart- Overture to Don Giovanni
  13. Mussorgsky- Pictures at an Exhibition
  14. Prokofiev- Piano Concerto No. 3
  15. Prokofiev- Violin Concerto No. 1
  16. Raff- Sinfonietta
  17. Rachmaninoff- Piano Concerto No. 3
  18. Saint-Saens- Cello Concerto No. 1
  19. Shostakovich- Symphony No. 6
  20. Sibelius- Karelia Overture
  21. Sibelius- Symphony No. 2
  22. Sibelius- Violin Concerto in d
  23. Strauss- Duet Concertino for Bassoon, Clarinet, and Orchestra
  24. Tchaikovsky- Violin Concerto in D
  25. Villa-Lobos- Bachianas Brasileiras, No. 5
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Spread the word. Share this post!

About the author

American conductor, composer and cellist Kenneth Woods is Principal Conductor of the English Symphony Orchestra, Artistic Director of the Colorado MahlerFest and cellist of the string trio Ensemble Epomeo. He records for the Avie, Somm, Nimbus, Signum, MSR and Toccata labels.

Learn about Kenneth at

All material in these pages is protected by copyright.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *