Wand on Bruckner 9

From Gunter Wand’s program note on Bruckner 9- 

“The greater brusqueness of the Ninth Symphony’s sound world, when compared with that of its predecessors, sometimes creates the impression of a conscious aloofness and results from a greater rigour in the polyphonic part-writing, an aspect of the work that puzzles some listeners on their first encounter with it. It is the expression of an inner truth and withdrawal from the world which, after so many ecstatic visions of otherworldly spendour, is also capable of articulating the most unfathomable dissonance. This terrible scream, in which humanity’s lament at the Paradise that is has lost seems to reverberate till the end of time, can find no resolution or release within itself. It is followed by silence, after which the listener turns to the security of faith. Sound seems to disengage itself from matter and between now and the work’s transfigured conclusion, the music’s pulse continues to beat in the certainty of “NON CONFUNDARIN AETERNUM” : “never let me be put to confusion.”

Copyrighted material is excerpted on these page without profit for educational purposes only under the “fair use” provisions of applicable copyright law and will be removed on request. 

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Spread the word. Share this post!

About the author

American conductor, composer and cellist Kenneth Woods is Principal Conductor of the English Symphony Orchestra, Artistic Director of the Colorado MahlerFest and cellist of the string trio Ensemble Epomeo. He records for the Avie, Somm, Nimbus, Signum, MSR and Toccata labels.

Learn about Kenneth at www.kennethwoods.net

All material in these pages is protected by copyright.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *