Daily Mail on Gal Violin Concerto, Concertino and Triptych

The Daily Mail

20 August 2010


HANS GAL’S Violin Concerto, written in 1931-32, when he was head of the conservatory in Mainz, is beautifully performed by young German soloist Annette-Barbara Vogel.

By the time Gal wrote his Concertino, in 1939, he was a refugee here from Nazi Germany. This is all lyrical, romantic music in a conservative modern idiom. Kenneth Woods conducts the Northern Sinfonia.



Now available from Amazon.com or Amazon.co.uk

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Spread the word. Share this post!

About the author

American conductor, composer and cellist Kenneth Woods is Principal Conductor of the English Symphony Orchestra, Artistic Director of the Colorado MahlerFest and cellist of the string trio Ensemble Epomeo. He records for the Avie, Somm, Nimbus, Signum, MSR and Toccata labels.

Learn about Kenneth at www.kennethwoods.net

All material in these pages is protected by copyright.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *