WCLV on Bobby and Hans vol 2

A somewhat belated notification of a lovely review from last July of Bobby and Hans vol 2, which was a featured new release at WCLV at the time . Read the original here. 


Hans Gál Symphony No. 4 & Robert Schumann Symphony No. 2— Orchestra of the Swan/Kenneth Woods (Avie 2231)

Take music firmly rooted in the German-Austrian tradition, refine it until its lightness of texture seems almost French, infuse the whole with an uneasy mix of tranquility and sorrow that recalls the best music of Chopin, and maybe, just maybe, you’ll come up with the Fourth Symphony of Hans Gál. This is music of incredible richness, and Kenneth Woods and the Orchestra of the Swan successfully elicit both its charm and its sense of melancholy. It’s paired with a consistently engaging account of Schumann’s Second Symphony. -Jerome Crossley

Featured Mon 7/9, Wed 7/18, Fri 7/27

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Spread the word. Share this post!

About the author

American conductor, composer and cellist Kenneth Woods is Principal Conductor of the English Symphony Orchestra, Artistic Director of the Colorado MahlerFest and cellist of the string trio Ensemble Epomeo. He records for the Avie, Somm, Nimbus, Signum, MSR and Toccata labels.

Learn about Kenneth at www.kennethwoods.net

All material in these pages is protected by copyright.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *