Concert Review, The Guardian – Pritchard’s vibrant violin concerto captures sound of the sea    

ESO/Woods review – Pritchard’s vibrant violin concerto captures sound of the sea

Bridgewater Hall, Manchester
Kenneth Woods led the English String Orchestra through a strong programme of new work that included Deborah Pritchard’s concerto inspired by Maggi ‘s Hambling’s art

Maggi Hambling is the most musical of painters. Her giant Scallop sculpture on Aldeburgh beach is inscribed with lines from Britten’s Peter Grimes; while her series of vast, spuming wave studies developed out of a desire “to paint the sound of the sea”.

Deborah Pritchard’s violin concerto, Wall of Water, was inspired by a visit to Hambling’s studio, and might be characterised as an attempt to capture the sound of the paintings. Pritchard – a synaesthetic who perceives intervals in terms of colour – on the spot began sketching the cadenza that opens the work. The concerto exhibited a spontaneity and vibrance that echoed Hambling’s freedom across the canvas.

Pritchard’s Wall of Water, however, is by no means a wall of sound. While Hambling’s works overwhelm you with their scale, Pritchard’s concerto is a transparent, melancholic piece scored for a modest ensemble of 12 strings. The expressive soloist Harriet Mackenzie traced a pellucid line, which was perhaps more reminiscent of a droplet of rain descending a windowpane than a giant wave exploding against the sea wall; although, for the non-synaesthetics in the audience, projections of the paintings made for a multisensory experience.

The English String Orchestra’s charismatic American conductor, Kenneth Woods, led a programme entirely of contemporary female composers. Thea Musgrave’s Green, Kaija Saariaho’s Terra Memoria and Emily Doolittle’s falling still were eloquently played, though the timbral similarities in the lineup ran the risk of the small orchestra’s wispy sound becoming ephemeral.


Read the original here

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Spread the word. Share this post!

About the author

American conductor, composer and cellist Kenneth Woods is Principal Conductor of the English Symphony Orchestra, Artistic Director of the Colorado MahlerFest and cellist of the string trio Ensemble Epomeo. He records for the Avie, Somm, Nimbus, Signum, MSR and Toccata labels.

Learn about Kenneth at

All material in these pages is protected by copyright.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *